PDA

View Full Version : Brain tumour fear

virgo78
19-03-10, 14:00
I am new to this. Apologies for the length of this thread...
I have always been an anxious person with a stressful lifestyle. People would describe me as a born worrier. The past couple of years have presented me with more than a few worries and stresses; money problems, marriage difficulties and work worries.

Within recent months, I have become totally convinced I am going to be diagnosed with a terminal brain tumour. I have been suffering from chronic dizziness and brain fog. It is not vertigo or a spinning sensation, but I feel off balance and lightheaded all the time. I feel as though I'm existing in a dream-like state as if whats happening around me isn't quite real. This has been going on for 5 months.

Sometimes the dizziness has been accompanied by severe sinus pressure, ear popping and a creeping sensation over my cheeks and chin. Recently i have been experiencing some nausea and when I turn my head quickly I can occasionally see floaters on my eyes. My neck feels very stiff and when I lie in bed at night my muscles seem to twitch constantly. I am terrified that these are tumour symptoms

I have been to my gp who feels that it is definitely anxiety as these symptoms first began in November a few days after I was informed of a cervical cancer scare when I was sent to hospital for a biopsy of my cervix. (At that point I became convinced that I would be diagnosed with cancer and die. Everything turned out fine). She has agreed to refer me for CT scan and MRI to rule out something sinister but going for this terrifies me even more. I can't face what I feel is the inevitable; a brain tumour diagnosis. I have had blood tests, co-ordination tests and been to A&E; they've all found nothing. Could this be anxiety-related?