PDA

View Full Version : Chest pains driving me mad.

ferrariman
29-03-10, 20:37
Hi all.Thank you for reading my post.I am a newbie on here and need some help.I suffer from chest discomfort and pains daily and its ruining my life.I am 40 years old and have had gad since oct 09.I have had most of the symptoms but the chest pains absolutely terrify me.My family history is riddled with heart attacks and i am trying my hardest to break the chain by losing weight,eating healthily and exercising every day.I have had 5 ecgs and a full check up 3 days ago which was all clear as were the ecgs but i cannot get the heart attack thing out of my head no matter how hard i try and its driving me crazy.I check myself in the mirror every time i go to the loo and am obsessed with my health.I am awaiting a referral for cbt to go through and i hope it helps me as i cant do this much longer.I dont want to sound like a whinger as i know people have suffered for years with this awful illness,i just would like a bit of help and reassurance from you guys that i am not going to pass away as you are all so amazing and total stars.Thank you again for reading my exhaustive post.I just needed to get it off my chest.I look forward gratefully to any replies recieved.ferrariman.:blush:

bottleblond
29-03-10, 20:57
Hi ferrariman

Chest pain/discomfort is so so very common with anxiety. I have copied the following infromation from our 'Symptoms' section of the forum.

Heart palpitations, chest pain, irregular beats, flutters, skipped beats

What you feel:

One of the most worrying symptoms is chest pains or a tight feeling in your chest. The immediate thought is "heart attack" or "stroke" and this only worries you more. You may also notice that your heartbeat is incredibly fast or irregular at times having palpitations and again this leads to the worry that you will have a heart attack.