PDA

View Full Version : Link between anxiety and having no job

MONKEE_MAGIK
31-03-10, 17:33
Hi all,

I have been out of work now for nearly a month but this is also the third time in the past 6 months. I have been working as an temp for over 12 months as I have had no permanent job offers as yet.

I have suffered with anxiety, panic attacks, and heath anxiety since I was about 7 years old. I have noticed that the more I have been sat at home alone and trying to look for work that my anxiety levels increase. Not only is my self esteem decreasing with every job I am turned down for but I am also becoming more and more reclusive and frightened to leave the house. It doesn't help that I have relocated to a new area with my partner so I have no close friends or family nearby either.

I was just wondering if others on the forum find that the more time you spend alone the worse your anxiety becomes?

Sorry if it is a bit long winded!!!

daydreamer
31-03-10, 19:59
Hi.

This sounds familiar as I am in the same situation. Its like a vicious cycle, months of not being able to get a job, being turned down all the time, becoming more anxious, being more reclusive, then feeling like Im too anxious to get a job!!! Its like I need to break the cycle somewhere but I am finding it really hard at the moment.

I think its important to get out and do as much as possible to keep you busy, do something that you find interesting and you get some enjoyment out of. Voluntary work is also a good option if you feel up to it? I am going to look into that in a few weeks time when I feel more up to it!

Good luck :)

MONKEE_MAGIK
31-03-10, 21:18
Hi Daydreamer,

Glad I am not the only one stuck in this cycle. It is difficult to get out and do things as I spend alot of time looking for jobs and if I leave the house I feel I should be back at home trying to get a job! I am doing my own head in at the moment.