PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone, heres my story!

lorraine27
02-04-10, 16:53
Hi everyone, I'm new to all this! I am suffering from health anxiety and have now got depression to go along with it!

I was diagnosed with sarcoidosis in November 2008, which is apparently now in remission but it has left some scarring on my left lung, which means i'm very prone to chest infections, which i've had plenty of!! I caught pnemonia in January and I have felt really scared since then!

When I was diagnosed with pnemonia, I didn't even have a cough or any pain in my chest, the doctors couldn't even hear any signs in my chest, it was only because I had a routine appointment at the chest clinic and had an x-ray that the doctors found out I had pnemonia, they had just assumed I had a viral infection and had told me just to take paracetomol!! I could have died and left my three young children without their mum!

Since January I have been thinking non stop that there is something wrong with me which the doctors are missing and I am worrying non stop! I have tried antidepressants but the side effects make me feel suicidal which I don't like, I hate taking medication, I am currently trying to get off steroids which takes a long time and I hate them!! I'm worrying constantly what they are doing to my body.

I find it very hard to even look after the kids at the moment because I feel so ill all the time, all I want to do is be in my bedroom in the peace and quiet, I know thats no good for me though!! Today I'm worrying because I have chest pain and I know its probably my anxiety but what if it isn't given my past history of chest problems? My heart also seems to be beating really hard and fast. I hate feeling like this!

Anyway thats my story, sorry its so long, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

diane07
02-04-10, 16:55
Hi lorraine27

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.