PDA

View Full Version : Hello. Dizziness getting me down.

J.Peace
14-04-10, 16:09
Hello everyone.

This is my first post, though I have been reading these forums for a little while already. It helps to know that I'm not the only one suffering with strange, unexplained symptoms.

My anxiety started when I was 20. I'm 25 now. My main concern is that I've been getting dizziness and a floaty feeling all the time, every day, for almost a year now, along with near-daily headaches. I suffered from palpitations and skipped beats in the past, but these have calmed down lately.

The dizziness, however, is getting worse and worse. I'm a PhD student, but I haven't been able to work properly on my thesis for months. I'm frightened to admit this to anyone outside my family, because the competition for academic jobs is so fierce I don't want to seem weak, especially since I've been awarded funding for my work. But I can't concentrate on my reading, can't write for very long before the dizziness/headaches wear me down, and am falling behind with everything. I used to have such a promising future, both as an academic and as a novelist, but I feel like I'm going to have to give up on my dreams. I can't fight this anymore.

My dizziness is hard to describe. It's not like the room is spinning, but more like I'm floating or falling forwards, with sudden rushes or zaps in my head, and I also often feel like my brain isn't communicating properly with my arms, hands, legs.

I've had ECGs, blood tests, hearing tests, balance tests, eye tests, which all came back normal. I haven't had an MRI yet and I'm really worried that I have a brain tumour or something.

Sorry to off-load, but today has been a particularly bad day.

Hope everyone else is doing well, and nice to meet you!

diane07
14-04-10, 16:10
Hi J.Peace

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.