PDA

View Full Version : MRI next Monday

Peter_Scott
19-04-10, 11:38
Hi,

I have an MRI brain scan next Monday any I am beginning to panic big time, first because I am extremely claustrophobic and secondly about the results.

I have posted before on the Health Anxiety Forum and have had some great support.

About a year ago I had a brain MRI and a lesion was found on my brain stem, and at the time I was told there was nothing to worry about. About Feb this year I started to get daily headaches and have had them most days since then. I wrote to my neuro who wants me to repeat the scan, this my GP has arranged for next week at hospital.

I am so worried about not being able to cope with the scan, and then the wait for the results. I know I need the scan but should I take some valium before the test I have never used it before and even the effect of the valium may make me panic more. Any advice would be very welcome,Peter

sarah jayne
19-04-10, 12:42
Hi, i can understand why you are anxious, mri's are horrible things. Ive got one tomorrow, it will be my fourth in less than 3 years. They are good though, i think its brilliant how they work, they can even pick up lesions as small as 2 mm. The worst part of it for me is the noise, i hate it, and like you im claustrophobic. I always close my eyes and pretend im club with horrid banging music lol. Like you ive had daily headaches but mine have been since last summer, im sure anxiety is the reason. You could have a word with your doc about taking something to calm you beforehand but if you do then you wouls need someone to drive you..
If you ever need a chat then pm me.
Sarah x

pammy1944
19-04-10, 12:45
i too hate enclosed spaces . but ive had 3 MRI scans . what i do is never open my eyes when im in the scanner and i pretend im on a lovely beach somewhere ( with a lot of noise in the background lol ).....take care and i hope the results are favourable xx

margaret jones
19-04-10, 20:11