PDA

View Full Version : Hi

Becci_T
25-04-10, 14:48
Hi, I'm new to the site, just going to put a bit about myself. My name is Becci, I'm 21 years old. I finished a degree in psychology last year, and while studying anxiety disorders and phobias I used to think, well that sounds a lot like me, but have only recently admitted to myself that I actually do have phobias. I think it's partly because I think they sound a bit silly and I don't think my family takes them seriously. I have trouble speaking to people I don't know and even members of my own family, I feel uncomfortable and foolish. I don't have friends accept some from school who I've known for about 10 years, but we don't see each other regularly. I have a phobia of using the telephone, and when being forced to use one I usually end up in tears. I am becoming increasingly anxious about walking anywhere, as I get embarrassed when I have to cross a road, this really annoys me because it sounds ridiculous! I am afraid that if I carry on like this I wont even be able to leave the house. I do feel a bit better after putting this down, I just think I need someone to talk to.

Becci

diane07
25-04-10, 14:55
Hi Becci_T

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

Deepest Blue
25-04-10, 16:37
Hi Becci, :welcome:to the forum, I hope you will find the help you need here, there is so much information and experiences shared.

I used to have a huge phobia of the phone and in some cases I still do now, but oddly enough I actually struggle more with people who I know than who I don't know, how strange is that?