PDA

View Full Version : fear stops me sleeping

littlewaternymph
29-04-10, 01:24
Hi,

I'm 20 and I suffer from the fear that i'll lose my mum. She's not ill, neither has she ever been seriously ill, yet I still worry about it. I think it may stem from the fact that we're very close and the idea of life without her is terrifying and i dont think id be able to cope.

When i'm at home (im a student living away during term) I can't sleep because i'm worrying about her so much so that I have to go check throughout the night, I can stop myself, but i still feel the panic so i dont feel it gets me anywhere. It is worse when im at home maybe because i feel that i'm there so if anything happened and i didnt do anything when i could have then id hate myself.

However even when at uni i worry about her and so have to speak to her on the phone a couple of times a day and when i cant get hold of her i panic until i can.

If anyone has any tips on how to get myself out of this cycle i would be really grateful.

bellalew
29-04-10, 14:06
it sounds like a case of what ifs/being your mum and no doubt your best friend we love them beyond words,and its natural to worry about them as they do us,try to ease up on the bad thoughts,easy to say,but your mum wouldnt want you to loose sleep worrying,as you are,she must be fine or youd be the first to know if she wasnt,why not have a chat with her about how you feel ,or maybe a chat with your doctor about your thoughts,but try not keep worrying hun.:hugs:hope you begin to sleep better soon.xxxx

PokerFace
29-04-10, 15:18