PDA

View Full Version : Please help me

SharonDerby
04-05-10, 11:57
Hello all

i am not new to NMP but i am new to depression.

I am 47 and have suffered from panic attacks and anxiety for 17 years, i also have emitaphobia, the latter si all that has really bothered me in the last 10 years as i have got control of the panic attacks and they rarely bother me, for that i am truely grateful.

I recently had a total thyroidectomy operation as i had had an overactive thyroid for 25 years and was told op was the best course of treatment so i duely had op and have regretted it ever since, i had op in Feb2010.

Since the op i have suffered terrible depression and i am so low at the mo i am having terrible horrible scarey thoughts about suicide, i keep thinking i am going to do something bad to harm myself even though this is the last thing i want :( i don't know where to turn, i understand that a lot of people here suffer depression as a result of anxiety but i don't feel i am suffering because of anxiety so feel even lower cos i feel there is no answer to this, can anyone help me? i am so so frightened and after reading some of the horror stories on here and elsewhere i am terrified the doc will diagnose depression and give me anti depressants and they will make me worse, i read somewhere that a side effect of some of the anti depressants is suicidal thoughts, i could not cope with that i am already feeling like that so i think anything else would tip me over the edge, oh god i am so scared of whats happening to me.

Where can i go ? what can i do? who can i talk to? will the doc section me? thats another thing i'm affraid of i'm svared he will section me and i don't feel thats what i need as i think this is all caused by this operation because prior to this i was perfectly fine apart from the emitaphobia which has been ok lately.

Sharon xxxxx

JaneC
04-05-10, 12:39
Hi Sharon,