PDA

View Full Version : Need advice please

SharonDerby
05-05-10, 10:42
Hi All
i'm not new to no more panic but i am new to health anxiety, i joined years back as i have a fear of being sick, no it's not a fear it's a phobia so this place has helped me no end in the past and i have always stayed around even when feeling better/well/normal.

Anyway i was hoping to make this short but i can't so if i may i would like to explain why i am now here on the health anxiety forum.

For 25 years i had an overactive thyroid, had it partialy removed 23 years ago but it never solved the problem so i took anti thyroid meds for 23 years and got along with it, it kept me slim and although it gave me awful eye problems they protrude and destroyed my looks i coped and i'm now 47 so they don't bother me as i have a wonderful partner so i'm not looking to be beuatiful for anyone other than him :) and he tells me i'm beautiful all the time so end of that.

Anyway fast forward to 2009 and i went for a routine apt with the thyroid doc who decided enough was enough and recomended i had a total thyroidectomy, had a small lump on the thyroid gland and the carbimazole was getting harder to control it as in i was underactive then over active etc etc so it was getting rough, i agreed to the operation as i had gone underactive and that made me feel really bad, gained weight freezing cold hair dropping out couldnt sleep even though i was exhausted, i think the best way i can describe it was i felt like a slug, so i agreed to op and date was set for Feb 2010 (12 weeks ago).

The day arrived and despite my horrific fear of being sick i had it done, the anethatist was wonderfull and almost had to guarentee the anesthetic would't make me sick, anyway i went through with it, oh i was so so proud of myself it was a huge step for me but i had done it and surrvived and was not sick, so alls well......................nope.