PDA

View Full Version : Feels a bit like vertigo....

DEREKG
11-05-10, 12:42
Hi everyone, I'm new to this but I'll try and explain the best I can... Had a huge panic attack about 5 weeks ago and since it happened my world feels turned upside down (in more ways than one, lol!). Every time I try and go outside it feels like vertigo. I find it difficult to look at or even think about the sky (crazy, I know! It's not like I'm gonna fall into the sky!). My legs feel weak, things seem hyper-real and I find it hard to concentrate on anything apart from the fear. I've had general/social anxiety for a long time and I thought that was hard to cope with but this is so much worse than when I used to just shake, sweat and feel overly self-concious. Got my first trip to the CPN in the morning so I'll see how that goes but I was just wondering if this is the way panic attacks and anxiety affects anyone else? Thanks.

lisa12
11-05-10, 13:01
Hi yes my anxiety and panic attacks always starts with dizziness it so awful even had brain scan coz i was cetain no way anxiety could cause this..but everything came back normal also had test for vertigo which 2 was normal and they said it was all down to anxiety..like you every time i go out im dizzy or feel like im walking on a bouncy castle this then sets other symtons of 2 as it freaks me out,,This might sound stupid and prob is but if i put sunglasses on i dont feel half as bad (this prob in my head 2 lol ) anyway i have had this now for many years and although it feels awful nothing bad as ever happened to me not even fell over lol ...hope u feal better soon x

DEREKG
11-05-10, 13:06
Thanks lisa12. I know it is just anxiety but it feels weird the way eveything changed overnight after the first panic attack. Funnily enough, I had to go to the doctor today and I did wear my sunglasses and it did help! :shades: lol x

Pudding
11-05-10, 16:23
Hi Derek