PDA

View Full Version : Online relationships

NotResponding
12-05-10, 02:11
deleted.

qualia
12-05-10, 02:26
Thanks to my previous line of work, I know many people involved in event management, artist management, djing and performing ie. people who you wouldn't think would have trouble developing relationships... Yet so many of them use dating sites!!

Personally, I've not met many people I would consider having a long term relationship with on or offline... And I've met some complete weirdos from dating sites. Certainly, be wary. Try to have a phone conversation or cam chat first. Meet as friends. Don't make any promises just in case she IS a scary bloke or psychopath. But don't knock internet dating. Some people have met their soulmates through it (apparently lol)...

eeyorelover
12-05-10, 04:08
I can only speak from a friendship standpoint because I have no first hand knowledge of romantic relationships via the internet but I've made friendships online that are more genuine and supportive than I have in real life.
I'm not sure how you would make sure that the person you are speaking to for a romantic relationship is genuinely who they say they are online.
It is true that you need to take precautions when beginning an online relationship.
Giving too much personal info can put you into a situation that is unsafe.
But I don't think that having an online relationship is 'sad'. Sometimes you can say things to people online that you wouldn't be able to face to face and so in that way I think that you could reach a level of intimacy (emotionally) that you could build on.
xxx
Sandy

jude uk
12-05-10, 04:39
I met my present girlfriend on line and 8 months later it is going great. We where honest with each other from the start and I stress that is very important. Ours was a dating site that we both paid to be on, so I think you are going to find genuine people on there. Like anywhere(even meeting someone in a pub or club) you can meet people that are not genuine.