PDA

View Full Version : Hi new to this

LizJ
15-05-10, 16:21
Hi I wondered if you could help. I'm new to this. I've had a very bad few years. I suffer from M.E. and three years ago my mum who was a huge support died. I also split up with my partner last year and have started an early menopause. Argh..........! Suffice to say I've been very anxious and quite depressed. After uping my 50mg dose of lustral to 150mg it made no difference and I have had a very bad few months reducing the dose down to 50mg as with my M.E I seem to be very suceptable to changes of drug doses. I started Mirtazapine, 15mg about six weeks ago. The first two/three weeks were fine apart from the hunger but then I started to feel very irrational, angry (not like me at all). A week or so later I was very agitated, confused and felt sucidal-not like me either. It was very frightening. I was immediately told to come off it without tappering it. Last week I stopped in but I have had six days of extreme agitation, crying, feeling very strange indeed, like funny brain zaps-much worse than the original anxiety. I've taken small doses of diazipan, 2.5mg to help Is this possible after only being on it 5 weeks to have such bad withdrawal effects-the doc said I would have no side effects!? Sorry to ramble on but I am meant to be going on a group holiday to Greece on Tues and unfortunately if this continues I don't see how I can go. Thanks so much for reading this.

ElizabethJane
15-05-10, 22:34
Hi Liz I'm sorry to hear that you have had a bad time after coming off mirtazapine. I had similar withdrawal effects after stopping without tapering. I also used valium to counteract these effects. The good think is the withdrals will stop. give it time.EJ

Vanilla Sky
15-05-10, 22:43
Just wanted to welcome you to NMP :welcome: Paige x

LizJ
15-05-10, 22:51
Hi Elizabeth and Paige