PDA

View Full Version : Meds: Yes or No?

nursey4
19-05-10, 05:43
Hi all,
I am wondering how many of you take medication for your anxiety/panic?
I have been off and on meds since I was 18 and I'm 32 now. I have been on meds more than off. I stopped my Prozac about 7 weeks ago and, as Prozac has a very long half life, I am now starting to feel the horrible effects and uncontrollable physical anxiety return. I still take Clonazepam (Klonopin, Rivotril depending on where you're from) but I would have to take a lot more than I do to be anxiety free. I have never been anxiety free on any meds and I have been on Prozac several times for long periods, Zoloft, Paxil and Celexa.
I was probably best on Zoloft but I had been on it for 3 years for OCD when I got this horrible panic disorder. My Dr. wants me to take Effexor and initially I agreed but I took it one day and then made excuses as to why not to take it until I just decided I was going to try going med-free again.
I am a nurse and I work in Psychiatry and I see the effects of people going off their meds all the time. They end up in hospital and I usually think "geez, if they would just stay on the meds!" For myself though, I dont' know, I don't feel as though I am above anyone else but I just feel that I should be able to handle my anxiety through exercise, diet, thinking, CBT, relaxation, etc. Also, I am learning about religion and think that may benefit me as well.
I just don't want to deal with side effects or worries about side effects anymore.
Ok, sorry for the rant. So, my questions? How many believe they are much, much better on meds and are fine if they have to stay on them for the rest of their life? How many don't take meds and have found other ways to relieve the anxiety? I would love to hear any other opinions or insights.
thanks X

Baggs
19-05-10, 10:26
I am better on meds. Have tried to do without them in the past but it was too hard. All the best. Baggs.

Vixxy
19-05-10, 10:38