PDA

View Full Version : Citalopram and alternatives

jmc
24-05-10, 16:56
Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting here. Just wanted to share my experience of citalopram and the alternative options available.
I was put on Citalopram in early March this year, suffering from depression. I have struggled with this condition for many years and was at a point where I needed intervention and help.
Unfortunately, the drugs had such severe side effects for me that I couldn't work. As I am a freelancer, no work = no money and so I had to address the idea of alternative options. I was quite surprised by how much my GP downplayed the side effects, and then how strong and debilitating they turned out to be for me. I understand that I am one of very few people that has a reaction this strong to the drug, but it came as quite a shock at a time when I was extremely vulnerable so it was a very scary experience.
I decided to go down the natural route. I spoke with a herbalist and dietician and radically changed my diet to include more fresh foods and certain vitamin supplements (B complex, C, zinc, siberian ginseng). I began to take St. John's Wort every day (3 to 1 tincture, 5ml morning and evening). I came up with a daily exercise plan and stuck to it rigorously. I explained to my friends and family the truth about my condition and asked for their help and support. I also started to see a counsellor for the first time. I began to read about and practice meditation. I learnt about breathing (sounds obvious, I know, but you'd be surprised!).

All of the above have brought me to a point where I feel like I can cope again. I'm not free of depression, but I'm managing my condition. I take a little time each day to work on myself and that is vital to my improving state of mind.