PDA

View Full Version : EMDR

ammiemum
06-06-10, 03:59
i am getting into a bit of a state worrying about what happens when you go to have this treatment. i am due to have this some time this summer and just want to know what is actually done - so any of you who have been..? i know what it is supposed to achiev e just not exactly how. i am not good at coping when i dont know, i will do my best to go to it as i cant continue to be the way i am, but as it gets nearer i just get scared. any guidance please? :scared15: :weep:

annette1
06-06-10, 21:33
Hi ammiemum

Your fears surrounding EMDR are perfectly normal. Are you having for trauma focused therapy for PTSD? If so reading 'Waking the Tiger' by Peter Levine will be a great help to you.

EMDR has been a great help to me. Please dont think at the first appointment you have with your therapist you will be thrown into it. Your therapist shouldn't start it until you have developed a trusting relationship with them.

During my initial appointments with my psych she just listened (without too much comment) to what was troubling me, she told me I didn't have to talk specifically about my trauma until I felt able to trust her & then we would be able to do it in a controlled way. In the end I wrote it down & emailed her then we discussed it at my next appointment.

Then she spent some weeks making sure I had grounding techniques to use both during & after the sessions, especially deep breathing. She also recommended I take anxiety meds, at the time it was off the scale to start emdr so reluctantly I gave in & took them. Something to be aware of is that therapy will intensify your symptoms for a while & during this time you will need to spend more time relaxing & using your grounding techniques.