PDA

View Full Version : Coming off of Venlafaxine from 187.5mg

mw
12-06-10, 00:10
Hello, I'm new to NMP although I have followed various threads over the last few years.

I was previously on Celexa, but after a long period of time when it was no longer working for me, my doctor suggested that I try Venlafaxine. Despite everything I have read about it, I decided to try it.

I haven't really noticed much improvement since I've started taking the Venlafaxine. I've been on it since February and have slowly moved from a dose of 37.5 mg to 187.5 mg. I only started at 187.5 mg about two weeks ago.

Previously, if I missed a dose, I noticed no difference at all. This week I missed a dose. I also had a cold and didn't realize until yesterday evening that I'd missed two doses in a row.

I decided to not take it today as there didn't seem to be much effect from the doses that I'd missed. However, the only explanation for the way I've been feeling today is withdrawal. Nausea, dizzyness, and now I understand what is meant by the term "brain zaps."

I won't be seeing my doctor for another two weeks, but with these withdrawal symptoms I really don't want to start taking the medicine again. I just want it out of my system altogether.
I know cold turkey is not the best way to do it. Any suggestions on how to cope until I see my doctor again would be much appreciated.

Dahlia
12-06-10, 12:12
Hi MW

You're right, cold turkey is definitely not the best way to come off venlafaxine. Ideally you should stay on the current dose til you see your doctor, then you can plan a withdrawal 'strategy'. I'll warn you though, withdrawal can take some time.

I have just withdrawn from venlafaxine and cross tapered onto sertraline. I was on 150mg venlafaxine, my withdrawal plan was:

Drop to 87.5mg for 2 weeks
Drop to 75mg for 2 weeks
Drop to 37.5mg for two weeks (which is when I started taking the sertraline too)