PDA

View Full Version : I just don't fit in...

Jingle
21-06-10, 21:24
Hi All, hope you are all well,

I've been doing my new job for a few months now and I still feel as though I don't fit in. Well, not just feel, I really don't fit in. I don't know what to talk about half the time, I'm awkward around my work mates. I can't relax which means I make mistakes. I think that what ever I do and where ever I work, I won't fit in. My husband thinks so too. He's just being honest with me which I appreciate. I'm lost, at a stand still. I have so many other worries, financial and a son with mild autism. I told my boss and then thought 'am I attention seeking??' so now all I can think about is 'does that sound like i'm attention seeking??'!! Bloody ridiculous!
Sorry for the ramble but thanks for reading.

J xx

andrew
23-06-10, 09:02
Hi Jingle,

Not sure why this didnt get any replies but thought I'd give it a go.

It doesn't sound like your attention seeking, your anxiety is just over analysing what you said. And I say 'just', I do remember that the thoughts can be totally overwhelming. Your own voice will help you to stop this, it is bloody ridiculous, its your anxiety and thats what you need to be telling yourself. Distraction may help as well.

I kind of agree that 'you might not ever fit in', I know its the nature of me and my social anxiety. BUT it doesnt matter. And I say that because once you win the internal argument with your anxiety, you'll be more able to act and react how you choose to. SO you still might not feel you fit in but you'll be able to talk when you choose, not be awkward, not make mistakes, not over analyse everything. Are you doing any talking therapy, try and find your own voice and yourself, start moving forward again.

Hope that helps, you take care.

Chem
24-06-10, 02:08