PDA

View Full Version : My Story

Enzo
22-06-10, 01:49
Hey everyone, I have a thread in the social anxiety section explaining my story and experiences, however lately I've been experiencing depression with my social anxiety so I thought I'd link it to the depression section.

I appreciate anyone who takes the time to give advice to me, it really means a lot.

Here it is: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=76237

Mya
22-06-10, 03:38
Hi Enzo,

I read through your previous post and I am so sorry the feelings you are having.

To give you some background on me, I suffered from panic attacks 2 years ago after a sudden death in the family and a near death of my father. I was working a very very stressful job in finance at the time. I had never experienced something so horrible as that.

I have been fighting this for 2 years, not panic attacks anymore but chronic anxiety and depression. I finally visited a psychologist in the fall and was diagnosed with GAD, OCD and Adjustment Disorder :blush: I refused medication until last month and began Lexapro. I had a nasty reaction to this and had to cease taking it. I never took Ativan but would use natural remedys instead. Depression and anxiety go hand in hand. I notice that when the anxiety is up, there is no depression. Seems to be no room for that feeling when anxiety is in control. Once the anxiety lifts, that is when the depression is awful. So much of this has to do with the exhaustion our nerves are under with the anxiety.

I was very successful before this. My job however was very pressuring and I am also a perfectionist :lac: I could not delegate to coworkers and I put much pressure on myself. It seems when I do something - I do it at 200% and it was the constant pressure of that and these sudden life changing events that caused all this- however I have been an anxious person from birth sadly :weep: