PDA

View Full Version : Having a bad time

daydreamer
16-07-10, 18:39
Hi everyone, (sorry for the long post!)

Im desperate for some support if you dont mind...

I havent posted for a while because everything was seemingly going OK. Ive been doing CBT for a few months and its been going well but this week has been the week from hell!

I've been told to keep pushing myself to do things, been going out a lot more and trying to get back to some sort of normality but I had a panic attack this week, you know one of the ones where you really are convinced your going to die! anyway since then Ive been really depressed. I keep wondering whats the point of all of this if Im not feeling any better after all this effort. I know its going to get worse before it gets better but surely not worse than I felt when this all started, which is how Im feeling now.

My therapist says its going to be bad like this for a while untill I realise that I can cope with it and its not going to hurt me. Well I know its not going to kill me, Ive had all the tests and Im fine, but its making me feel bad. Its just kinda hit me that I really am ill, I feel mentally exhausted. Ive never really considered anxiety a mental illness, or admitted that to myself before. Im my eyes that equals failure.

I tried going out of the house today to the shops and to see a friend and I made it a few hundred yards away before I had to turn back. Letting people down yet again, thats something that Im good at! It wasnt the physical symptoms that got me this time, it was the mental feeling of terror and depression. Everywhere suddenly went all gloomy/black and I really thought, not that I was going to die, but that I was going to have a breakdown and just lose it, go mad!