PDA

View Full Version : Need some help sticking it out.

lucinda99
24-07-10, 00:00
Hi there,

This is my first time posting on this forum, and I'm hoping to get some advice. I was diagnosed with panic disorder approximately 16 months ago, after experiencing recurrent anxiety attacks after a very stressful period in my life. I have been taking Cipralex for about 12 months. Over the past 4 months I have been weaning myself off the medication, after consulting with a doctor. I first went down from 10mg/day to 7.5mg. When I felt comfortable with that, I went down to 5mg. About 3-1/2 weeks ago, I went down to 2.5mg. It was the most difficult adjustment, I had some strange withdrawal symptoms for a few days. Now over the last couple of weeks I've noticed that my anxiety is creeping back in. I would think that it is because of the reduced dose, BUT I'm also in the middle of moving to a new home, packing, etc, which I'm finding stressful. So I wonder if my anxiety has more to do with that than with the dosage. My goal is to wean off the medication entirely...the doctor who prescribed it for me suggested that it would be a short term solution for what now may be considered PTSD. I was thinking about putting the dose back up to 5mg--in consultation with my doctor of course--until we get through the move, which will be in a week, and then get settled in. But I really don't want to do that if it's not necessary. At this point, I'm not having panic attacks, havent' had one for a very long time, just feeling an overall increased anxiety. Any suggestions? Should I just stick it out?

beckyrdg
24-07-10, 01:24