PDA

View Full Version : Really dont know what to do???

linworth
29-07-10, 17:03
Hi

i have posted several times about increasing my meds, and having horrendeous side effects, because the dose was too strong for me, well i decreased back down to my normal dose on saturday and feel like i am losing my mind, deep deep depression, constant crying, constant fear, and self loathing, iam desperate to get better. Could this be the side effects from dropping dose, if yes, how much longer?? cant get an answer off my doctor. Also as my increase in meds didnt work, doctor has said i am to stop my 50mg of sertraline on friday, have nothing for two days, then start 10mg of cit, I am absolutely terrified, surely i shouldnt go two day with nothing, I am at my wits end and fighting really hard to get better. Has anybody had an experience with swopping meds?

Thanks lynne

paulaf
29-07-10, 17:16
Hi Linworth, sorry to hear you are having such a hard time. I have lots of experience with changing meds. In total I have changed about six or seven times and it is extremely hard. Not only do you have withdrawal from the old med to deal with but the anxiety symptoms themselves and then the time it takes / side effects of the new drug til it works. The reason your doc wants you to have a break is that this is medically really important. It can be dangerous to have too high levels of seratonin in the body so you need to get the old meds out before introducing the new ones. I know this is really hard but it will be worthwhile if you new meds are the right ones for you. Withdrawing should be done under gp supervision and not too fast but too slow is also like prolonging your agony. If you are feeling really bad speak to your doc about what you might be able to do to make the process easier.

anthrokid
30-07-10, 04:08