PDA

View Full Version : Fear of flying and Diazepam 2mg

DanniTurner
29-07-10, 20:41
I recently went to the doctors about my crippling fear of flying, she prescribed Diazepam 2mg to take 15 minutes before i get on the plane.

I have some questions about it, since i'm fairly new to anti-anxiety tablets.

Firstly what affects will it have on me? such as how will it relax me?

Also how long will it last? my flight is almost 5 hours long.

Thanks for the help,

Danni.

Baggs
30-07-10, 08:01
Suggestion: when you have a free day, take a tab so you will know the effect. 2mg is a fairly low dose and should just take the edge of things and, yes, it should last for 5 hours. Good luck. Baggs.

DanniTurner
30-07-10, 11:43
Hey,
thanks for the reply.
Unfortunately the doctor only gave me two tablets (one for on the way there, and back)
So i cannot :/

caz1625
30-07-10, 13:08
I was given 2mg diazepam for my fear of the dentist. I hadn't been in 10yrs and was terrified. I am proud to say that after 3months of work I now don't have sore teeth and I will go back for my check up in 6 months. They certainly worked for me.........calmed me without spacing me out. I get even more anxious if I don't feel in control. I also listened to a relaxation tape before my appointment. Good luck I'm sure you'll be fine.

Carol x

DanniTurner
30-07-10, 16:08
Thank you Carol,
That makes me feel more positive :)

Deva
30-07-10, 21:06
Hi Danni

My first experience with diazepam was for a similar thing: in 2008 I went to France and was scared to death of the channel tunnel part of the journey (I suffer from GAD). So my doc prescribed me 2mgs to help me with it. I was scared to to take it but when I did on my journey on the m'way to the tunnel I felt almost nothing and 2mg just took the edge off my anxiety but I still felt normal; not spaced or tired or weird.