PDA

View Full Version : hi all im a newbie

feasible
31-07-10, 13:26
hi all.. my name is richard and i currently live in doncaster s.yorks

Ive been suffering from panic and anxiety for most of my adult life im now 40 and these things started when i was 20.

im on fluoxatine and proponolol and the occassional diazapam altho i try my damndest to avoid these but i find comfort in carrying them.

i suffer ibs which is undoubtably caused by my anxiety and this is another major obstacle to me living a normal active lifestyle.i refuse to go abroad on holidays because at least in britain i know the language of my hospitals and stuff i think you get what i mean.. i just dont like the idea of being in a foreign country and having non english srroundings and people....england is my comfort zone.

i make excuses not to go places to see family friends because i make myself ill before hand even tho i love them dearly.. its the travelling and what ifs that come onto my mind and im sure many of you feel that way too.

i am also very ashamed and embarressed by my ilness.. i dont know why i feel that way but i feel i have to lie rather than say im suffering my anxiety to people when i arrange things and cancel.
anyway im so glad i found this place.. on the one hand im glad i have found other people with similar situations to my own... on the other hand i feel so bad for all of you because i dont want anyone feeling like i do and i know you do.
i found this site a while ago and i read it every now and then and it does help me.. i hope it helps you too its http://www.anxietynetwork.com/pdfear.html

basically it explains why our worst fears wont happen and it makes a lot of sense

hope to chat to many of you soon and i wish every single person here the best

regards
richard

diane07
31-07-10, 13:27
Hi feasible

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.