PDA

View Full Version : WANTED: Reassurance please

scaredycatx
01-08-10, 11:39
Hi everyone,

I am a complete newbie to this site although I have had a good look around over the past few days and wanted to submit a post as I am looking for some reassurance to 'my story' as this site seems to be a great help.

I'm 26 and my nightmare started 6 weeks ago now (It's been a long 6 weeks!) with tension headaches, pretty much constantly all day everyday (does seem to get a little worse as the day goes on though), all in the back of my head and neck and shoulder pain. These are still here 6 weeks on and are starting to scare me now. I was originally signed off work for 2 weeks to relax and they did start to ease during this time but as soon as I went back to work they seem to have gotton worse. I have much less pain in my neck and shoulders now but this has been replaced with the headache moving to the front of my head some days now and some days I feel like there is so much pressure in the back of my head that it is going to explode. Painkillers won't touch them. Some of the time I kind of feel that I'm only 70% here and pretty floaty sometimes although I can have good days and bad days with this.

My other symptoms are an occasional tight chest (definately worse when I've been extra worrying) and pins and needles and numbness in parts of my body occasionally. I was having palpitations so doctor has put me on 80mg Propranolol slow release and this has completely got rid of this. The doctor thinks this is all anxiety based and has ran blood tests etc which were all normal. He has said (and I quote!) it's definately nothing serious. He did however think that the Propranolol would help my headache but it hasn't. I'm back at docs thursday and he is looking to refer me for some CBT.