PDA

View Full Version : How can I help her?

newbf
23-02-06, 13:11
Hi,

I am completely new to the world of panic attacks. I have once before experienced one, but I have never knowingly met someone who experiences them.

I have started seeing this lovely girl and she has just told me that occassionally she experiences panic attacks and has done so since she was a child. I am not the sort of bloke to run away in horror in disgust, so that's why I am here.

We have spoken about it and she is concerned that when we go out, she may suffer an attack and I will run a mile. This isn't the case. I think I have convinced her of this.

What I really could do with, is some practical advice of what to do and say if she has an attack. I have asked her, but she seems unable to provide practical steps I can take in the event of an attack. I'm not the sort to freak out and I remain calm in difficult situations but I want to make sure I don't do the worng thing and lose a lovely girl!

Any advice is very welcome!

New B/F!

Alexandra
23-02-06, 13:26
Hiya

Welcome to the forum.

One of the things you can/could do is talk quietly & calmly to her & most of all reassure her that she is safe & everything will be okay.

Take Care

Alexandra

Ma Larkin
23-02-06, 13:38
Hi New B/F, I think its really great you showing such an interest & compassion, wanting to help if your girl does have a panic attack. I find I cope best during a panic attack if I sit up straight & get the breathing technique right. Remember to tell your girl to take short breaths in & longer breaths out, either that or blow into a paper bag, however, this can be a bit embarrassing in a public place. I have been accused of sniffing glue before now & i'm nearly 40!! Try calmly talking about anything but panic, take her mind away from the panic & i'm sure you'll be absolutely brilliant. Try not to worry too much, panic attacks can be pretty scary to witness when they are at their worst. You'll be great i'm sure.

Les

Piglet