PDA

View Full Version : Anxeity nerve damage?

StressedEric
09-08-10, 15:03
Hi, can you permantely damange the nervous system in your brain thru long term high anxiety I'm worrying as I've been suffering from high anxiety for about 6 months and worried that it caused irreperable damage. currently suffering bad dp and like a zombie. :shrug:

gypsywomen
09-08-10, 15:12
if that was the case .we all would be in a very bad way ,,no it wont our brains are too active ,,i have had anxiety 3 years ,i am a chessplayer and artist ,, so i shouldnt worry

StressedEric
09-08-10, 15:18
if that was the case .we all would be in a very bad way ,,no it wont our brains are too active ,,i have had anxiety 3 years ,i am a chessplayer and artist ,, so i shouldnt worry

Thanks for reassurance, the depersonalisation is deliberating going round the house like zombie and was worried it may be permanent due to nerve damage as had it for months now.

gypsywomen
09-08-10, 15:22
no the brain is stronger than you think ,, its marvelous like a computer,it stores everything ,that's why we suffer all these awful feelings ..

Natalie x
09-08-10, 15:34
Hi there. Gypsywomen is right; if that was the case then we would be frazzled! Try not to worry. The depersonalisation is all liknked to anxiety. I used to get it too, adn another thing that I find myself doing is thinking & focusing so much into everything I do if that makes sense and think about me. I know it probably sounds really silly, and it's hard for me to describe, but I think it's depersonalisation x

StressedEric
10-08-10, 23:41