PDA

View Full Version : I'm having a really hard time

Jac 2009
14-08-10, 21:01
Hi everyone,

I'm a teacher and the summer holidays are a nightmare. This year, however, it is much worse but I don't know why.

You'd think the holidays would be a time to relax and recharge but the structure and the distraction of work keeps me going. These holidays I have descended into severe general anxiety and horrible and frequent panic attacks. The worse comes in the middle of the night. I wake feeling really anxious. I lie there controlling my breathing perfectly - sometimes for an hour or more. I listen to relaxation tapes, do positive thinking and so on but nowadays and despite this I always descend into hyperventilation which is completely horrible and terrifying. I know the advice which says get up and do something but I am so terrified I am frozen to the spot. I have tried getting up sometimes but this just brings on the hyperventilation more quickly.

I have tried everything except medication. All the quick fixes plus CBT, counselling, hynotherapy and NLP. All this has cost a fortune but I would pay anything to get rid of this and have some sort of life. I am going to the doctor first thing on Monday to try medication.

Today my partner and I went to a local shopping mall. I thought this would be good to get my mind off my extreme anxiety. It was a nightmare and I finished the morning with a migrane which terrifies me. I don't mind the headache but the jagged vision really gets me going. I phoned NHS Direct and the nice woman on the end of the phone really helped. She advised me to go to bed for a while which I did but I woke up feeling just as bad.

Help! What can I do to make me feel better? Recently I have done the whole accept the fear and try and make it worse. The trouble is it has become worse!

Jac x

Jac 2009
15-08-10, 16:58