PDA

View Full Version : Just a little bit of history repeating....

silenticecream
25-08-10, 01:01
Hi everyone, whilst I have only just registered with the site I have been using its links and lurking on the forums for several years, and just want to say what a fantastic resource it is for anyone that is experiencing mental turmoil. So, on that note, I was hoping that I might be able to avail of your collective wisdom :D.

I have suffered from varying degrees of depression and anxiety since my teens, and whilst I have been able to live a fairly normal, if at times socially limited life as a result, there have been several instances in my life when I have basically retreated from everything and hidden myself away from, well, life really. My CBT counselor described this as "chronic avoidance", a fairly apt description, and it something is deeprooted in my personality and I have to fight with everyday, like conquering an addiction I suppose. Im guessing that a lot of you have experienced stuff like this before, so sorry for the longwindedness!!