PDA

View Full Version : Hello I'm new here

Jason37
27-02-06, 16:00
Hello. My name is Jason and I'm 37 (as you may have guessed). I'm totally new to No More Panic, I only discovered it today.
If this isn't the right place to post this, would someone kind please tell me and I'll move the post - thank you.
Here's my story. A week before last Christmas (2005) my wife told me she had met someone else, which had made her realise how unhappy she was being married to me, and she wanted to end the marriage. In fact she wanted me to move out. We have 2 brilliant kids (I know every parent thinks so, but they really are) - a son of 10 and a daughter of 6. I didn't move out because I wanted to be there for the 2 of them, which I have been as much as I possibly can ever since. We haven't talked to them yet, as I would prefer to have something concrete to tell them about what's going to happen, but I know time is running out.
We have to sell our house and find new places to live.
We had been married for nearly 12 years, and together, with one short break-up, for 18 years. You don't have to be a mathematician to work out that's been the whole of my adult life. Now solicitors are involved and the divorce process is under way.
Now, 10 weeks on, I carry around a deep-rooted anxiety almost all the time. Everything makes me feel afraid to the pit of my stomach, and nauseous. The biggest fear is how the children will feel when we tell them they have to leave the only home they've ever lived in, and how they will feel about the idea that they won't have me (or her) there any time they want. I can almost feel their fear and uncertainty as the foundations of their world so far start to shake. I will do anything I can to help them, but I'm frightened it will not be enough to stop them suffering.