PDA

View Full Version : Don't know how to relax

gauss101
05-09-10, 13:09
I'm a maths teacher, sorry, somebody has to do it, and I love my job. When I'm working, then I feel I am fulfilling a purpose. I work long hours and most evenings. The problem is, that I don't know how to relax when I'm not working. I get fidgety, can't concentrate, get anxious and the thought of going out, socially, makes me feel physically sick. I'm taking Citalapram, and a 2mg dose of Diazepam, each morning. This doesn't seem to do very much, but it's difficult to tell without some sort of comparison. I would, dearly, love to just be at ease and for the anxiety to just drain away. But then who wouldn't. I turned down the opportunity of going on a date, purely because the thought of going on it made me panic. In the end I made an excuse and didn't go. This doesn't make me feel any better, although my date accepted the excuse, and said we could meet up another time.
Part of the problem, seems to be that I'm tired. Tired of working long hours, although I enjoy it, but mostly tired of feeling a freak. Everybody else seems to enjoy time off. I just dread it and feel anxious and lost.
Sorry, to moan, and I'm aware others, on the site have more important problems. But any ideas would be greatfully received.

KATYB
05-09-10, 13:35
Hiya,

Not much but I hope it helps to hear anothers thoughts,

I'm also unable to relax, I'm a fidget and a ditherer, I'm my own worst enemy! I found over the last few months though that getting some kind of routine, no matter how small helps, for instance my partner and I go for a walk in the evenings after work just for half hour, but it's something.

jothenurse
05-09-10, 14:49
Try doing some exercising, that may help. Or get into something that you can really enjoy. Maybe some kind of a hobby.

baileys
05-09-10, 15:45
Well im glad you are not an English teacher cos my grammers crap :blush: