PDA

View Full Version : Anxious over teenage son's devastation

Rosie82
05-09-10, 20:09
Hi

I wonder if anyone has felt like I do at the moment. I suffer with anxiety, sometimes HA but probably general anxiety more so. It has been quite bad over the last year I am currently on trazodone to help this. I have a wonderful husband, who doesn’t suffer with anxiety, and is very patient and understanding. We have 2 teenage sons 14 and nearly 18, and I find I worry about them so much. The eldest’s girlfriend has just finished with him and he is devastated. I can’t seem to cope with his devastation as well as my own anxiety which because of this has gone through the roof. I am having panic attacks and have to face going back to work tomorrow after 6 weeks off. (I work in a school). I am trying to support him as much as possible but it breaks my heart to see him so upset. Of course everything he says I am analysing and coming up with the worst possible outcomes, like he will get depressed, drop out of college, have no job etc etc. Please has anyone out there been through this sort of anxiety about their teenager, and come through it? Any words of comfort will help.:weep:

baileys
05-09-10, 20:30
I can remember feeling the way you do when my sons girlfriend split with him.
He was devastated and i couldn't cope with how he was feeling.
My anxiety shot through the roof, i couldn't sleep or eat and i felt really scared, i tried to say everything right but whatever came out of my mouth was wrong.
Looking back at it now i think i presumed that he was feeling the same as me, but he wasn't, he doesn't suffer from anxiety so the only thing he had to deal with was the loss of his girlfriend and not all the feelings that i was experencing.
He will be fine as all kids go though this at some point but as a mum its not nice to see.

Rosie82
05-09-10, 20:57
Hi Baileys