PDA

View Full Version : Depersonalisation/sertraline help!

lecb
08-09-10, 21:09
Hi, i'm new to this so please bear with me!

I'm ellie, 22, and have Lyme Disease (have had for 10 years now). I never had any mental health problems before contracting the disease...

I started at about 12 with obsessional thoughts (killing people, myself, having to touch door knobs etc or i would cause world disasters etc), and depression. I was on citalopram for 3 years which i found helped the depression but didn't do much for the obsessional thoughts/OCD.

I started getting panic attacks too, and being afraid to leave the house, due to fearing having a panic attack - i had to have someone with me all the time and it became very restrictive for me and for them.

I got a new psychiatrist (he's great) who put me on Sertraline. Coming off citalopram was awful, one of the worst weeks of my life, but about 1-2 weeks of taking sertraline i started feeling much better, and never really had any side effects. I started on 100mg, then went to 150mg and then 200mg. I was on 200mg for a long time and was very happy. My GP didn't think i needed to be on them and cut them to 100mg over night. I had a terrible week or so but then settled into the new dose, but i would say i never felt as good as i did on 200mg.

I notice that when i am physically more ill, i tend to go down mentally too, so in my case they are definitely connected.

Earlier this year my Grandad died, and i don't honestly think i have processed it fully, or grieved properly for him. I am also just about to start medical school (after 3 years of not being able to go due to not being well enough).

About 2 weeks ago i went away for a week abroad (a massive deal for me given i have a history of agorophobia, and i didn't have a family member with me - just a friend). I was really nervous about going away so i upped my sertraline to 150mg. My psychiatrist trusts me enough to let me have a 50mg leeway.