PDA

View Full Version : Hi there, here's my story...

neilo31
10-09-10, 23:00
Hi all,

I have been coming to 'No More Panic' by recommendation for almost 6 months now but never thought to register and check out the forum. I'd simply used the 'symptoms' page to check that what I was experiencing was normal.

After suffering a panic attack yesterday It only just occurred to me to check online for forums and chat rooms and of course there was one under my nose all along.

So let me tell you about myself...

It all started (Health Anxiety), out of the blue, in december 2009. I guess what triggered it was one evening when I was alone in bed, I discovered what I thought was a lump in my 'trouser department'. Having never really had a health risk before, I panicked and called my doctor's surgery. It was the week before Christmas and I was told that I couldn't see the doctor until the 1st Jan. Great. Naturally over that week I'd built up several crazy ideas in my head about my fate.

So the time comes, I'm told everything is okay but that I can request an ultrasound scan for reassurance if I wanted. This was then a 6 week wait on the NHS. Between then and the time of my scan I had worried myself sick, literally. I was having most of the symptoms described on this website and was making myself worse due to not knowing or accepting that my problems were related to anxiety.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I have been in and out of my local clinic this year more times than I can count. I have been to GUM clinics (with sexual health worries), several walk-in clinics, a urologist where I had a cystoscopy and more ultrasounds, an ENT where I had an Endoscopy (for a throat problem that was then diagnosed as 'globus pharyngeus'), had blood tests, urine tests, and have been rushed to my local 'on call care' unit twice with panic attacks.