PDA

View Full Version : Worst night ever!!!!!

lajjj
16-09-10, 07:20
lookin for tips! had the worst night ever last night.. my heart was beating so hard and so fast that i actually thought it was gonna explode out my chest i could feel it in my throat hear it in my ears my chest felt tight i actually thought this is it am gonna die...its scared me pretty badly so i know this is prob gonna continue all day as i cant stop thinkin about it! any one have any tips to calm my self down? i have just got over a cold and cough thing thats been going around and the muscles in my chest feel tight from coughing i think! so i think that has been the trigger...think i may be holding tension there. therefore focussing on the heart area alot! also had a few night palpataitions over last few weeks which is possibly another trigger and its a spiral!!!! i dont wanna go down!!!

kibbutz83
16-09-10, 07:42
Hi Lajjj, welcome :) I only joined a few hours ago, so I'm new to all this too. I can't tell whether you're male or female, young or old? Panic hit me 5 years ago, and for the past two years I've been trying to understand the causes-which isn't easy or straightforward!
As you said you have been focussing on the heart area a lot, which could point to hyper-vigilance, which is all part and parcel of anxiety. Have you been under any underlying stress or sleeping badly? It seems that what you're describing is a panic attack, but it could be a one off. I would say that if you can try to sleep, you will be better equipped to deal with the fear aspect. Lay off stimulants if possible: coffee, tea, fags, alcohol etc.
You must make your adrenals strong at a time like this! Good luck, Nicola

lajjj
16-09-10, 07:48