PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone - very grateful to find this site...

sweetwater
02-03-04, 04:30
i've just read your stories and god i'm immensely grateful to see that others out there are struggling with the same issues i'm battling with, and i'm also very grateful to see the issue of drug use is not a taboo topic in here. the last anxiety forum i was a part of were totally negative towards my past drug use, i don't think they could even comprehend my reasons, perhaps they saw me as very weak with no will power...but it has really helped me to see that others have used it as a coping mechanism, as a way to flee the wretched feelings that plaugh us day in and day out. also very delighted to see that there is a fellow nurse in here too! i'm a registered nurse - just completed my uni degree last yr and am awaiting a graduate yr in june this yr. currently i work in aged care, whilst i await my start in the hospital. i'm 24 and it has taken me 5 yrs to complete my 3 yr degree, and yes i could blame this on me smoking marijuana every night for a yr, and popping ectasy here and there, but i know in my heart that the social anxiety was the driving force behind this action. marijuana seemed at 1st to be wonderful - it would make me happy and free, and my anxiety sedated. but then came the paranoia, withdrawal, vagueness, mood swings, and sometimes, irrational thinking - and i knew it was time to call it quits. i had a huge panic attack on ectasy eventually too - and i knew that my illicit drug taking had to be ceased, otherwise i would have more than anxiety to worry about. i have been on a heap of meds, seen quite a few psychiatrists and psychologists, have participated in a self esteem course and yoga. the counselling has been very helpful and has made me accept myself and my feelings much more, as well as wonderful support from my family and friends have made it possible for me to stand here and tell you my story. without them i would be 6 feet under my now. however