PDA

View Full Version : Anyone that can get to Croydon

Nigel H
24-09-10, 20:03
If Croydon is accessible to you - you could try this evening course - pretty cheap too for a few hours.

http://www.nlpacademy.co.uk/courses/view/self_hypnosis_for_change/

I can't vouch for them from personal experience, as I did not train with them myself, but got this as I am on their email mailing address list.

Hope it is close enough to give a go for some of you!

All the best

Nigel

Vixxy
24-09-10, 20:17
Ive done NLP and it really is useful :)

trooper
25-09-10, 18:59
I have done NLP too, I studied it, read lots of books, even saw a highly trained 'coach' for quite some time and fairly considerable cost. I would put a word of caution in.

Whilst I think most people involved in that scene are well intentioned, and can bring positive learning and practical tools into your life, there are some possible down falls too. Not necesarily, but in most cases the courses and coaching is often stupidly over priced, especially in relation to psychotherapist and other trained proffesionals who have had to study for much longer and go through more rigorous training and monitoring in order to practice . Whilst the seminars might be cheap of free, they are often used as a sales tool to get back end sales into courses or coaching. There is nothing wrong with this per-say, I wouldn't expect them to do it for free. And knowing NLP as I do, sales from a stage can be highly effective.

But as someone that has suffered from anxiety for most of my life, now in my thirties, NLP actually made me worse. It wasn't all bad, I picked up some great tools and its really helped me in my business life over coming limiting beliefs and dealing with communication and the like.

I am not suggesting that NLP has no merit or that it cannot help with the 'symptoms' of anxiety and depresion and possibly in some cases the coursation too.