PDA

View Full Version : CITALOPRAM verses PROZAC

merlin 66
28-09-10, 18:52
Hi This is my first time on a forum so please excuse any errors.
Where to begin...
I began having very bad anxiety attacks and terrible depression. We all get down from time to time but I just could not get myself out of the despair this time. I reluctantly admitted defeat and went to doctors, who put me on prozac, which I took for 2 weeks. My symptoms got worse. I went back and he then put me on citalopram, which I have only been on for a few days.
I don't like taking drugs so was a bit worried about side effects and being on this drug as I was told it is far more addictive than prozac.
The anxiety has lessened a bit but not the depression, but early days yet.
Has anyone else tried prozac first, (after 2 weeks the anxiety seemed to be worse). Should I have stuck with the prozac or did I do the right thing by changing to citalopram.

Thanks for taking time to read this

merlin 66

lollybob
28-09-10, 19:33
I've been on prozac before (when i had Post Natal Deppression)

I found that, it helped for the time, as it was a different type of drug. Prozac relaxes you and so your less likely to find it stressfull... It is great for when the outside issues are the culprit (money, divorce, work, bond with your baby etc)

Citalopram is a drug which helps your body to keep hold of serotonin levels( your happy hormone) . This is great for when you have a chemical imbalance. xx

So both drugs can work, but i have a chemical imbalance now so the citalopram is working ( slowly, as with all these things) but yes, after 3 weeks i'm starting to feel the benefits. I won't say it is easy, but it is working. I can now see a light of a 400mile tunnel!