PDA

View Full Version : Just started on pregabalin, my choice...

stucun
29-09-10, 19:38
Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster lol...

Suffered from panic attacks and general anxiety for 2 years now, it seems stress at work broke me (i'm a lab tech in a microbiology lab of a busy childrens hospital) :( I was on 10mg of escitalopram for a while (didn't work) and 80mg propranolol bd. Now i'm on 30mg of Mirtazapine (excellent drug, apart from weight gain, but cant speak highly enough of how much this has helped me) which has taken all my panic attacks away, so now i'm just left with general anxiety which is a pain..

So i went to mp gp and asked to try pregabalin 75mg bd (twice a day)... Well what an amusing day i've had lol, a mix of spaced out stoned feeling and a wee bit of nausea thrown in for good measure. From what i've read here taking them on an empty stomach (which i did) seems to potentiate stronger side effects.. Is that the consensus from people?

I'll stick them out and see what happens!! I hope they dont last long, cant be off work much more and i ride a motorbike as a daily commute so cant be all spaced out on it!

Stuart

Belfry1973
01-10-10, 09:25
Good luck to you and I hope you are successful! I've been on them 6 months now and still get the occasional side effect, mainly the dry mouth the benefits far outway them.
But, I've come to the opinion that they may not be enough on their own, what they've done for me is allow me to look at whats been making me stressed and anxious and allow me to deal with it through counselling instead of trying to ignore it!

And yes, I think the consensus of everybody is that they should be taken on a full stomach, and 6 months later this is still true!

JT69
02-10-10, 15:26
Hi Stuart,