PDA

View Full Version : anxiety in public spaces.....

ruthd
03-03-04, 22:37
Hello all,

I am a new member in this forum and a have spoken to nicola about posting this message.

I am a PhD student at the Royal College of Art in London, and am researching how to design for feelings of anxiety and discomfort in public urban spaces.

I am really interested in hearing experiences of elements in public spaces which make people feel uncomfortable and also in finding out things which might help coping with the space. Although obviously I am interested in views from agoraphobics, I am also looking for people to tell me experiences from a more general anxiety and panic perspective. A feeling I also have some experience of.

I have developed a photo questionnaire of two london shopping spaces ( you don't need to have been to them ) which I am looking for people to fill in. If you are ineterested in this please email me directly at ruthvdillon@aol.com. and i can send you a copy.

Or if you would just like to share some info on spaces or things in space which make you feel uncomfortable please post a message here.

Thankyou in advance for your help and stories.

Ruth

red
03-03-04, 22:57
Hi Ruth
Always glad to help anyone who can help us sufferers! What a good thing to know that someone is thinking about the design of 'places' for us too. It seems that most other dibilitating conditions are catered for like wheelchair users and people who have difficulty with any kind of mobility. The problem that a lot of us have with mobility is that we are 'mentally' unable to walk around!

My main anxiety trigger in public spaces seems to be the lighting - this is also the case in gyms, meeting rooms of any kind, shoping centres, supermarkets etc

Hope this helps - and good luck!

Red

twister
05-03-04, 00:24
I mainly get agorophobic in closed spaces (apparently this is not claustrophobia though!).

I agree though that bright lights are evil for freaking panickers out!

Emily

stimpy