PDA

View Full Version : How hard must you try to get rid of anxiety???

happycamper
13-10-10, 15:34
Looking for some advice please peeps....

After 4 years of major life stressors, a biggie being my parents having completely different cancers 3 times, plus the usual having children, moving house 150 miles away, etc I developed anxiety (no surprise there!) but it stayed put and got much worse along with the physical stuff that goes along with it.

So in June after admitting it being a problem to myself and select others I started on citalopram 20mgs and am lucky enough to have started seeing a clinical psychologist attatched to a cancer support centre.

But I didn't sit back hoping it would go away and have put alot of effort into making myself better too, such as yoga, self help books, dabble with mindfulness meditation (not as good in practice as on paper), keep alcohol to a minimum, good diet etc etc. No problems going to work which is in fact a great distraction (I'm a nurse....).

I actually thought I'd got sorted within a couple of months of starting the cit and felt quite elated, but the last few weeks have feel like it's all back again and the horrible physical stuff is back too such as bad indigestion. I'm very frustrated and despondent now.

So I'm seeking any tips or advice of what more I should do to get myself back to my normal happy go lucky self again. Can I try even harder???

Mazzmate
13-10-10, 15:42
Sounds like you are doing everything you can do, maybe this is just a blip and you will soon be back on the road to recovery, I hope so. You do sound as if you are very positive with regard to the effort you have been putting in. Don't give in to it, I know it's an uphill struggle sometimes, but we have to keep going for it. All the best.

ladybird64
13-10-10, 19:22
I totally understand what you mean by this, the same thing happened to me a couple of months ago.