PDA

View Full Version : Acceptance or Distraction

Megmillan
19-10-10, 16:12
Hi

I've been reading a variety of information on anxiety - I've been sufferring in various degrees for the last 15 years (the last 3 months have been the worst so far).
I'm a bit confused, probably because I'm doing so much research on the subject trying to find an answer. The Claire Weekes books stress the importance of acceptance of thoughts and feelings and not trying to fight them. Paul David, author of At Last a Life, also advocates this. However other strategies suggest thought stopping / challenging and distraction or diversion techniques.
Can anyone give me some practical strategies that have worked? I feel like I'm wasting too much of my precious life on something that I am causing myself.

Any help or advice appreciated

M

ladybird64
19-10-10, 16:28
Have sent PM x

Alfie1967
19-10-10, 16:30
Hi Meg, I too have read the same as you and to be honest self helped using the Claire Weekes method for about 12 years. However the last three months have been hell and I feel right back at square one. I think if I didn't have the physical feeling of dizziness 24/7 then I would be better able to cope with the anxiety, but because of this my anxiety levels are through the roof and I just don't know what to do. I've tried distraction but cannot relax enough and as for relaxtion and breathing exercises, when you feel so anxious, it is hard to concentrate.
I'm sorry I cannot give you any useful advice, but wanted you to know you are not alone. Are you on medication or receiving counselling?
xxx

Megmillan
19-10-10, 16:36
Yes I am - Cipralex 10mg and counselling twice a fortnight.
I thing I am bombarding myself with too much information, but it's difficult when you just want to be well again.

MidnightCalm
19-10-10, 16:45