PDA

View Full Version : Blood Pressure

JulieJay92
23-10-10, 09:54
Should i be concerned about my BP

It has varied for months but on average around 128/86

For 2 days now it has been 138/96 :ohmy: no matter what time i do it although before bed last night it was 150/95

The only other 2 things i have our mild lower back pain and upper jaw pain - possibly from a tooth at the back which gives me grief as i do occasionally grind my teeth in my sleep and also a shootiing pain in my left baby finger

Probably not related but i am on my period since friday - can someone please advise

sb001f8994
23-10-10, 14:40
Hi,
Im not an expert and can only pass on what my gp told me. Blood pressure for me (Im 49) should be 140/90 or below. I was told that anything up to 160/100 would be kept carefully monitored and medicated if it persisted over a couple of months. My hubby's bp was high, 170/102 for six weeks under the doctors watchful eye and after it looked like it wasnt budging he was put on medication. He now has a good bp reading, has had no effects from the medication and doing great.
Hope this is a little help to you, take care.

joannap
25-10-10, 10:42
i really would not be worried - your bp can fluctuate constantly. when you are on your period and also in pain/stressed - your bp will naturally be higher.

i had an over active thyroid last year - my bp had always been clinically perfect but as soon as i got thyroid problems my readings were in the 140's for ages which really freaked me out - to be honest - i stopped taking my blood pressure in the end so i could not get anxious about it! my gp told me that because i am only 35 - there is no way that they would consider medication. the last few times i had it checked it was in the 130's and they said it was nothing to worry about.