PDA

View Full Version : New Member w/breathing & Heart fears

03-11-10, 02:43
Hello I am a new member and recently looked up health anxiety. I know I have it, but it's convincing myself that my symptoms aren't really life-threatening that is the hard part. I continually struggle with the idea that I'm not just anxious but perhaps actually on my death bed.

I have had health fears my whole life, I can remember as a child sitting up and wondering if I was going to stop breathing at night. I also used to have severe panic attacks that I thought were heart attacks and that robbed me of my breath. In addition I was diagnosed with asthma and allergies. So my whole life, almost on a daily basis, I feel like I am going to stop breathing. I have shortness of breath almost all the time, and a dry, hacking cough that plagues me as well. I also get bloaty feelings and funny heart beats.

I am also a nurising student and know how to assess my heart and lungs. Well my lungs sound clear to me but my heart, I have these funny "fluttery" feelings that feel like they're coming from my heart, and I listened to them the other day & it was a skipped beat, I could hear it clearly.

I had anorexia nervousa for about one-two years and I was 5'6 and 98 lbs, I recovered without treatment, but I am afraid that I have damaged my heart. Although my breathing issues have been going on since I was about 9, went to see many doctors and was told it was GERD, allergies, asthma, blah blah blah. Also diagnosed with depression, anxiety disorder.

Anyway I have self-diagnosed with everything under the book related to breathing, my current fear is congestive heart failure due to my severe stomach bloating and shortness of breath. Who knows. I just want for once in my life to breath normally. And to not be afraid.

eeyorelover
03-11-10, 02:55
Welcome to the site.