PDA

View Full Version : Claiming ESA for avoidant personality disorder (plus other problems)

groke
04-11-10, 05:50
Hi everyone,

I've suffered from AvPD for about 20 years. I was a recluse through most of my childhood and I've spent most of my adult life on the dole.

I suppose the biggest problem for me now is that I can't leave the house without wearing a hat and layers of thick, baggy clothing, which means that 99% of jobs are unsuitable for me. I can't work in a shop, I can't work in an office, I can't work in a lab (I have a first class physics degree that I can't use :sad:)

In fact, apart from being a postie, I'm not sure what I could do. I've applied for postie jobs by the way - always unsuccessful :weep:

After so long on the dole (as I'm sure you all know) they put you on a back to work course. I went on one before for 2 weeks. It wasn't so bad because I could wear what I liked, but some of the people on those courses are very unpleasant and I find it hard to be around people as it is. I just couldn't cope with more than 2 weeks of it.

So I took advantage of a self-employment scheme they were running through the jobcenter. You sign off the dole, but you have to go back every 6 weeks to show that you're still trading.

Even though you don't have to make any money to be on the scheme, I was worried that my new deal advisor (who was always trying to trip me up) would kick me off if she didn't see that I was earning money.

So... here's the stupid bit... I gave her fake accounts, saying that I was earning when I wasn't.

I did eventually start to make some money, but from selling on ebay, which isn't what I was supposed to be doing.