PDA

View Full Version : Bulimia Worries

Rach J
09-11-10, 16:14
I've been bulimic, on and off, for the last 10 years, but recently it reared it's head again and I was making myself sick on a daily basis for a few weeks. Naturally, my anxiety and panic have come along with it and my main concern is the damage I've done to myself over the years. I'm aware that repeated vomiting can cause heart problems. I finally went to the doctor last week, explained the situation and had a blood test, I get the results tomorrow. The doc said that as the bulimia has been periodic and not constant, there's less risk of serious damage.

This is why, when I have anxiety or panic attacks I try to tell myself it's just panic but I end up truly believing that it could be my heart because of the bulimia.

Nigel
09-11-10, 17:30
Hi Rach,

“The doc said that as the bulimia has been periodic and not constant, there's less risk of serious damage.”

I’m not an expert but that does make sense. I think the real damage is caused by constant and long term purging. If left unchecked, it can cause many serious health problems; however, I believe heart problems are one of the less common.

It would be a good idea though talk to somebody about the bulimia. Eating disorders usual develop as a way of coping with or blocking out painful emotions, or of taking control of one aspect of life when everything else seems beyond a person’s control.

Reading between the lines when you say – “recently it reared it's head again” – I suspect one such situation was the trigger for it. It doesn’t work when a person tries to give up their ‘coping’ strategy, but it’s possible to learn some better, more effective ways of dealing with those difficult situations.

Take care :)
Nigel

10-11-10, 05:11