PDA

View Full Version : Please some advice about work & panic

panicdiva
16-03-06, 11:00
Ok, here it is. If any of you read my bit on introduce yourself about 2 wks ago when I joined you will know this, but those of you who don't I will briefly tell you about my dilemma. I work as a Classroom Assistant, so you will know that I am working with kids. My anxiety & panic are not an issue at my job as luckily I am able to get out & about & I feel fine. I do not have to travel far to my work, so again this is not an issue. However, if & when very occassionaly I am asked to go on a school trip that involves going on the motorway, I find this difficult. Once, last June I was asked to go to the Dungeons in Edinburgh but said I could not face that - then I was asked to go to the Royal Highland Show in Edinburgh & I did manage that ok. 3 wks ago, I was asked to go to Transport Museum in Glasgow but felt that there was no way I could face it so asked head teacher if she could get someone else. She said that she wished she had known about this at the interview (16 months ago). I was devastated, to say the least & spent most of the day in the toilets crying because I felt so ashamed & embarrassed. I work at 3 schools - the school in question i go to on a Thurs & Fri, but she had called me at another school on the Wed. So, I phoned human resources to ask for advice because I was convinced that I was going to lose my job. She was most helpful & said that headteacher should not have said that, & that I would not lose my job. She said that I must ask Headteacher at my base school (school I am at on a Wed) to refer me to Occupational Health who would advise as what to do, ie: send a note to say I am exempt from school trips (which I really don't want because to me that would be like giving in) remember sometimes, depending on my frame of mind I can do it, or referring me to a psychologist. So, I had to tell Base School Head Teacher, but was again very upset. She said that she did not