PDA

View Full Version : ROCD At Its Worst

dmb8185
19-11-10, 18:28
Hi All,

This is my first time posting on this site and i seem to be one of the few from the good ol' USA. I wanted to just share my story and see who else has experienced my same thoughts / anxieties / obsessions.

I am a 25 year old male who ever since entering the dating world, have always been extremely picky with girls i've dated and thus, for one reason another, things usually fizzled out after 1-2 months and i never attributed it to ROCD.

Now to the present...i have been dating a great girl for 3 months. From the beginning i realized this girl was special and had so many of the important qualities i desire in a partner. She is so sweet, caring, down to earth and i really enjoyed being with her.

After about 1 month of dating, i had sudden attack of not "what if's" but more of "you dont like her, you are using her, you need to break up with her now, this isnt right for you, something is missing and you need to get out of this." I was panicking. In my past CBT sessions for harm OCD and HOCD, i was able to use CBT to reattribut and relabel my OCD. With ROCD the thoughts feel so real its beyond difficult to decipher what is real and what isnt. I went from looking and thinking about this girl and smiling and being happy to see her next to freaking out 24/7, acting depressed and upset and not excited to see her. Sometimes when i see her, the OCD goes away but most recently it stays while i am with her, thus causing more panic and anxiety.

I let the thoughts stay in my head and go about my day at work but i know they are there and that bothers me. I pray that i will wake up in the morning with the thoughts gone and they never are so its another day of misery.