PDA

View Full Version : is cipramil the same as citalopram?

AJS
28-11-10, 17:29
Hi

Just wondering if Cipramil is the same as Citalopram.

The chemist has given me something that looks totally different to what I usually get. My old pack says citalopram and the main ingredient says citalopram hydroCHLORIDE - the new pack say Cipramil and the main ingredient says citalopram hydroBROMIDE?

Would be grateful if anyone could tell me if they are the same thing or not - i am due to take my next tablet in the morning and wouldn't like to take a totally different tablet.

Thanks

AJ x

HarrogateChris
28-11-10, 18:04
I'm not an expert. But they are listed together under the same entry in the BNF (British National Formulary) which is the official quick reference book.

I *think* the citalopram is the important bit and whether it is provided as hydrochloride or hydrobromide is just a proprietary thing.

But I don't know what I'm talking about so I'd advise giving your GP or pharmacist a call if you have time before starting the new ones. I'm sure it's fine, but doesn't hurt to put your mind at rest. Is there a 24hr pharmacy you could phone?

Chris

AJS
28-11-10, 18:18
Thanks Chris

I have had a look on the internet and it seems to be the same tablet - it's just a branding thing.

Will give the chemist a call in the morning before i take it - just incase. I'm just a bit reluctant in case it is something different - as then i would probably end up with discontinuation effect and then side effects from the new ones - knowing my luck!! (was ill for the first 2 weeks of citalopram)

Much appreciated

Aj

HarrogateChris
28-11-10, 18:24
Let us know what they say. Looks like I'm going to be on the Cit a while so it would be useful to know whould the same happen to me. :)

Chris

AJS
28-11-10, 18:35
sure - will do :)

I have had loads of different brands - but they have all just said citalopram - this one is totally different!

AJS
30-11-10, 14:37