PDA

View Full Version : Advice about medication please

LyndaB
20-12-10, 02:00
Hallo all, I am a newbie.
I have suffered from depression, anxiety and panic attacks for several years. There are times when I feel worse than others, I am sure many of you understand that.

I have been tried on lots of medication and nothing has helped me, indeed I have often felt worse. I've also self medicated with stuff I bought.

I was put on Amitriptyline 50mg once a day just over three weeks ago. I feel more depressed than ever, quite desolate and hope-less, and I can't sleep. Because the psychiatrist prescribed the Amitriptyline, my GP cut down my sleeping tablets (Zolpiderm) because the Amitrip often zonks people out but it hasn't done that to me.

To be honest, I felt better on no medication and think I ought to stop taking it. As I have only been on it for a short while, three weeksish, will I suffer severe withdrawal if I just stop taking it or should I taper it off over the next week? I realize this is something I should be discussing with my doctor or the psychiatrist but am not going to see them before Christmas. Any advice welcome. Thank you.

LyndaB
20-12-10, 14:37
I am replying to myself :D

I went to counselling this morning and the counsellor lent me a book, "Back to Life. (The Great Escape from Tranquilliser Addiction)", by Pam Armstrong. I also went into the chemist and spoke to the pharmacist who wanted to be helpful but wasn't really :). He said the obvious thing, speak to your GP or the psychiatrist. He did tell me that Amitriptyline was not the same as the benzodiazepine I had been on before, from which I had terrible withdrawal. Well I knew that.

I am going to cut down the dose, half a tab tonight and for a couple of days, then half a tab every other day, then finito. Hopefully.